A sample of the Book

And I thought that you would like a sample of what will be on here in the coming days.  Enjoy!

1. A War Scene

(Abridged)

 

During the siege of Copenhagen, Denmark; I was particularly impressed with an object that I saw three or four days afterward the bombardment of the city.  Every night, multitudes of destructive engines of warfare, known as ‘Congreve’s Rockets’ were shot at the stronghold.  Soon did the blazing houses illuminate the heavens.  After this the Danes gave up their arsenal and all it contained to the British.  Some days after, walking among the ruins, in the midst of this broad field of desolation, stood one home, untouched by the fire, a monument of mercy.  “Whose home is that?” I asked.  “That,” answered my guide, “belongs to and is occupied by a member of the clergy; he would not leave his home, but remained in prayer with family and friends throughout the bombardment.”  “Surely,” thought I, “The hairs of your head were numbered!  He has been a shield to you in battle, and a wall of fire stood around your home.  ’Tis an example of the Prince of Peace, shall not fear the weak arm of men.  It will be well with the righteous in those times.”

Contribution by Lieutenant J. W. H. Handley.

Note: This is a true story!

How did God protect this man’s home?  Did praying and praying by the family accomplish this or did God know beforehand that he would protect this family?

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, From the Editor, Illustrations of Providence. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A sample of the Book

  1. Jotham Hughes says:

    Amazing story of Gods providence, this is an amazing conundrum for our human minds to comprehend. Can our prayer changes God plan … it may appear so when Abraham pleaded with God for Sodom and Gomorrah … but it would be my understanding that it was Gods will for Abraham to plead and to weep for these cities for Gods glorification and for the spiritual growth of Abraham. … It would appear to be giving us, man much power and control that belongs to God to believe to our prayers would deter the will of God … so in response to the questions you can’t separate the prayer from Gods providence as both were willed by God, the prayer and the safety are both Gods plan inter-twined.

Leave a Reply

