The Countess of Huntingdon, “Not Ashamed of Me” – Part Two

Continuing from last post . . .

. . . [H]isses, groans, and cries of “Down, down!” burst from every quarter.  Then the lady I have described arose with dignity, and, slowly passing through the crowd, she went up to the speaker and thanked her, in her own name and in that of all present, for the faithfulness with which she had born testimony to the truth.  The lady added, “I am not of your persuasion, nor has it been my belief that our women are generally deputed to be public teachers; but God who gives the will can make the exception, and he has indeed put it in the hearts of all His children to honour fidelity to His commission.  Again I gratefully thank you.”  Side by side with the Quaker she walked to the door of the Pump Room, and then resumed her seat.  This lady was none other then the celebrated Countess of Huntingdon.

THE END

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, Noble types of Godly Women. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

