A Story of William Wilberforce

There is a story told of William Wilberforce of his first meeting with Robert Hall, when in the course of conversation Hall said to Wilberforce, “What is your idea of heaven, sir?” and Wilberforce replied, “Love, Mr. Hall, love.  And what is yours, sir?” and Hall answered, “My idea of heaven, sir?  My idea of heaven, sir, is rest, rest!”  We may believe that both men spoke in that moment out of the fullness of their natures; the large, loving heart of Wilberforce, and the poor body of Hall, which never knew a days liberation from pain.  For their are many words that fall very bright, but millions of words have never been gathered up, so “Gather up the fragments that remain, that nothing be lost.”

And that is exactly what I am doing here, in these posts. – Hentycrew

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, Examples of Wisdom in Ordinary Lives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

