Another Adam

A gentleman riding along the road, passed by a field of furze in which a man was hoeing; and for every stroke he gave with his hoe, he cried out, “Oh, Adam!”  The gentleman stopped his horse, and inquired the reason of his saying, “Oh, Adam!”  “Why, please your honour,” said the man, “only for Adam I would have had no occasion to labour at all.”  “Very good,” said the gentleman, “call at my house tomorrow.”  Next day the gentleman took him into a beautiful garden, and asked him if he would like to live there.  The son of Adam replied in the affirmative.  “Very well,” said the gentleman, “you shall want for nothing.  But mind you are to enjoy it on one condition: that you look not under the pewter plate that lies on the table.”  The man was overjoyed at his good fortune, and thought that there was little fear of his forfeiting it by looking under the plate.  One day, when no one was present, he thought he would take a peep; there could be no harm in it – no one would ever know; and accordingly he raised the forbidden plate, when lo! a little mouse jumped from under it: his doom was sealed. “Begone to your hoeing,” said the gentleman the next day, “and cry ‘Oh, Adam’ no more, since, like him, you have lost a paradise by disobedience.”

I have Italicized certain portions of the story, to point out the key parts of the story, and the way they relate to our lives. – Hentycrew

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, Examples of Wisdom in Ordinary Lives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

