Found Out – Oliver Cromwell

During the usurpation* of Cromwell, Sir ____, of Surrey, who was one of Cromwell’s knights, was sued by the minister of the parish for his tithes.  While the dispute was pending, Sir ____ fancied that the parson preached at him, as he called it, every Sunday; whereupon he made his complaint to Cromwell, who summoned the minister to appear before him.  The poor man denied the charge, saying he had done nothing but his duty, and had only preached in general terms against vice, liars, and thieves; and defied Sir ____ to instance any particular allusion to himself.  After Cromwell had heard both parties, he dismissed the knight with this memorable reprimand, “Sir ____, go home, and hereafter live in good friendship with your minister; the Word of the Lord is a searching Word, and I am afraid it has now found you out.”

* Some may not agree with the word, ‘usurpation’, but I have only copied these stories straight from the book, no editing.

I believe that Cromwell was actually a Puritan, but I do not have space to write about it here, so HERE is a link to biography on his life from the Reformed point of view. – Hentycrew

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, Examples of Wisdom in Ordinary Lives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

