A Method of Arguement

Of a Bishop this following story is told.  His lordship was examining a candidate for holy orders, who was more deficient in theology than in brains.  Among other questions the Bishop asked him, “If you were in company with persons who impugn the doctrine of the Trinity, how would you defend it?”  “My lord,” said the man, “I feel hurt by your supposing I would keep such company.”  “If, however,” continued the Bishop, “you were to find yourself with such persons, and they were to attack you, what course would you pursue?”  “Can you doubt, my lord, what I should do?  I should of course leave the room instantly!”

Today I am going to ask you a question.  If you were in company with persons who do not believe in the Trinity how would you defend it?  I look forward to seeing your answers; and, on Thursday, I will give my answer when this post is closed. – Hentycrew

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, Examples of Wisdom in Ordinary Lives, From the Editor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Method of Arguement

  1. Pingback: The Two Roses | Christian Anecdotes

Leave a Reply

