A King Reproved by a Soldier

A King was riding along in disguise, and seeing a soldier at a public door, stopped and asked the soldier to have a drink with him; and while they were there, the king swore.  The soldier said, “I am sorry to hear young gentlemen swear.”  His Majesty took no notice, but swore again.  The soldier said, “I’ll pay part of the bill, if you please, and go, for I so hate swearing that if you were the king himself I should tell you of it.”  “Should you indeed?” replied the king.  “I would.” said the soldier.  A while after, the king having invited some lords to dine with him, the soldier was sent for, and while they were at dinner he was ordered into the room to wait a while.  Presently the king uttered an oath; the soldier immediately(but modestly) said, “Should not my lord and king fear an oath?”  The king, looking first at the soldier, said, “There, my lords, is an honest man; he can respectfully remind me of the great sin of swearing, but you can sit and let me stain my soul by swearing, and not so much as tell me about it.”

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, Examples of Wisdom in Ordinary Lives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

