A new year . . . . . . A new subject!

Thank you all for looking at my blog over the course of last year.   I am planning to post at least 50 posts this new year, almost one a week, Lord willing.  So here we go, first to:

‘Some of the Heroes of the Church’

IN

Christian Anecdotes

    ‘I cannot enough admire the cheerfulness, constancy, faith, and hope of Luther, even in these trying times.  He constantly feeds these good affections by a very diligent study of the Word of God.  Then, not a day passes in which he does not employ in prayer at least three of his best hours.  Once I happened to hear him at prayer. Oh, what spirit, what faith was there in his expressions!  He petitioned God with as much reverence as if he were in the divine presence, and yet with as firm a hope and confidence as he would address a friend.  “I know,” said he, “that Thou art our Father and our God; therefore I am sure that thou wilt bring to nought the persecutions of Thy children; for shouldest Thou fail to do this, Thine own cause would be endangered.  We, by thy providence, have been compelled to take a part; Thou wilt therefore be our defense.”  Whilst I was listening to Luther praying in this manner, at a distance, my soul seemed to burn within me, to hear a man address God so much like a friend, and yet with so much gravity and reverence; and also to hear him, in the course of his prayer, insisting on the promise contained in the Psalms, as if he were sure his petitions would be granted.’

 – Vitus Theodorus, German Reformer – a friend of Luther

Click here for an article about Vitus Theodorus:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Veit_Dietrich

 

 

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, From the Editor, Heroes of the Church, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

