The Venerable Bede, Part 2

. . . [The scribes] speed quickly on their holy task.  But the countenance of the venerable author is visibly changing; death is casting its shadows over the pale features of Bede.  The good work is not yet finished; the last chapter in the Gospel of St. John yet remains in the original language.  The busy pens have ceased, waiting for the dictation of Bede; but beneath the serene countenance, life and death are struggling for the mastery; no voice is heard, and the spirit of genius seems about to quietly slip away.  One of the scribes whispers, “Dearest master, there is still another chapter wanting; will the trouble be too great to proceed?”  A new spirit is given to the man of letters.  “Trouble! it is none.”  said he; “Take your pen, prepare your parchment, and write fast.”

To be continued on Monday.

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, Heroes of the Church. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

