The Death of Bishop Butler

The Death of Bishop Butler

     When Bishop Butler came to die, he was agitated by apprehensions which he could not suppress, and confessed his fears to his chaplain.  “My lord,” said the chaplain, “you have not forgotten that Jesus Christ is Saviour?”  “No, I have not forgotten that,” said the Bishop, “but how shall I know that He is a Saviour for me?”  “My lord, it is written, ‘Him that cometh unto Me, I will in no wise cast out.'”  “True,” said the Bishop, “and I am surprised that, though I have read that passage a thousand times over, I never felt its virtue until this moment; and now I die happy.”

    Is it not wonderful that God has given us assurance of life in Christ, and that we His children will live with Him forever in a new Heaven and Earth?  God has created us to be His own, and there would be no reason for life, if it were not for our Creator.   That is the last Wonders of God in Creation for this section. 

Remember:

God created us for his Glory;
Christ has set us free from sin;
The Spirit gives us holy courage:
This song we’ll ever sing!
– hentycrew

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, The Wonders of God in Creation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Death of Bishop Butler

  1. homeschoolonthecroft says:

    I have seen so often that older Christians, who are often great theologians, come back to the ‘simple’ and best known texts of Scripture when they are coming close to death.
    ” …. I will in no wise cast out.” What a promise!

Leave a Reply

