A Sheep in Court, Part 2

. . . . But the poor animal, not knowing the “voice of a stranger,” would not go to him.  In the meantime, the other claimant, who was in an adjoining room, growing impatient, and probably suspecting the nature of what was going on, gave a kind of ‘cluck’, upon which the sheep bounded away towards him without a moments delay.  This ‘cluck’ was the way in which he had been used to calling his sheep, and it was at once decided that he was the real owner.  Thus we have presented to us incidentally a beautiful illustration of John 4:5 – “And the sheep follow Him, for they know His voice.  And a stranger they will not follow, but will flee from him; for they know not the voice of a stranger.”

Should we not be thankful that if we are Christ’s own we shall recognize his call and we will not, with the help of the Spirit, be led away from our Saviour.

hentycrew

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, Examples of Wisdom in Ordinary Lives. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Sheep in Court, Part 2

  1. homeschoolonthecroft says:

    I see this with my brother-in-law’s sheep…. only they came running before they even hear his voice – once they hear his pick-up coming, they run towards the gate! And yes, the scene always reminds me of the Scripture, ‘My sheep know My voice…’

Leave a Reply

