Stopped Worrying and began to Laugh

A friend at a celebrated watering place(aka the seaside), met a lady who seemed hovering on the brink of the grave.  Her cheeks were hollow and wan, her manner listless, her step languid, and her brow wore the severe contraction so indicative both of mental and physical suffering, so that she was to all observers an object of sincere pity.
Some years afterward, this friend encountered the same lady; but so bright, and fresh, and youthful, so full of healthful buoyancy, and so joyous in expression, that he questioned the lady if he had not deceived himself with regard to her identity.
“Is it possible,” said he, “that I see before me Mrs.           , who presented such a doleful appearance at the Springs several years ago?”
“The very same,” said she.
“And pray tell me, madam, the secret of your cure.  What means did you use to to attain such vigour of mind and body, such cheerfulness and rejuvenation?”
“A very simple remedy,” returned she, with a beaming face.  “I stopped worrying and began to laugh; that was all.”

Do not worry about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring forth. – The Epistle of James

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, Examples of Wisdom in Ordinary Lives, Illustrations of Providence. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

