A Poem . . . .

Wouldst thou from find a sweet relief?
Or is thy heart oppressed by woes untold?
Balm wouldst thou gather for corroding grief?
Pour blessings round thee, like a shower of gold.
‘Tis when the rose is wrapt in many a fold,
Close to the heart, the worm is wasting there
Its life and beauty; not, when all unrolled,
Leaf after leaf, its bosom rich and fair
Breathes freely its perfumes, throughout the ambient air.

Rouse to some work of high and wholly love,
And thou an angel’s happiness shalt know;
Shalt bless the earth; while, in the world above,
The good begun by thee shall onward flow
In many a branching stream, and wider grow.
The seed that in these few and fleeting hours
Thy hands unsparing and unwearied sow,
Shall deck thy grave with amaranthine flowers,
And yield thee fruits divine, in heaven’s immortal bowers.

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment