The Beginning of the End

A Providential Word in Season

The Countess of Huntingdon once spoke to a workman who was repairing a wall, and pressed him to take some thought concerning the state of his soul.  Some years afterward she was speaking to another on the same subject, and said to him, “Thomas, I fear you never pray, nor look to Christ for salvation.”  “Your ladyship is mistaken,” answered the man; “I heard what passed between you and James at such a time, and the word you designed for him took effect on me.”  “How did you hear it?” asked the countess.  “I heard it,” answered the man, “on the other side of the garden, through a hole in the wall, and shall never forget the impression I received.”

This is the first of the last nine posts for this blog.  Then 100 posts will have been made, and I hope that at least one has edified someone in some way.  I will be starting a new blog in the coming year and will do a final post detailing what and where it is.  For now, enjoy and be encouraged by the last posts taken from all the major sections of the book.

About William Moore

I am a Christian, saved and living by God's grace. I am doing this blog on a book called, "The World of Religious Anecdote," or, as I like to call it, "Christian Anecdotes." The reason why I am doing this blog, on a book, instead of about myself, is because there are so many unedifying things in the world, so that we, as Christians, need to take the world and subdue it for our Lord. I believe and hope that is what I am doing here, in this blog. I try to do my posts twice a week, in order to keep the flow going. I hope you enjoy reading, learning, and sharing this book, "Christian Anecdotes."
This entry was posted in All Posts, From the Editor, Illustrations of Providence, Noble types of Godly Women. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Beginning of the End

  1. So good to see you here. I thought you’d stopped blogging, but found your email in my Spam…. WHAT was my email provider *thinking*??!!
    Great to read up on your anecdotes again, and look forward to your next blog.
    Love to all
    Anne x

Leave a Reply

